From staff reports

Gov. Howard Dean, chairman of the Democratic National Committee, nominated Atlanta Mayor Shirley Franklin as one of four distinguished leaders to be the Permanent Chair and Co-Chairs of the 2008 Democratic National Convention in Denver.

The four are Congresswoman Nancy Pelosi, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives; Kansas Governor Kathleen Sebelius, chair of the Democratic Governors Association; Texas State Senator Leticia Van de Putte, president of the National Conference of State Legislatures; and Franklin, president of the National Conference of Democratic Mayors.

“I am honored by the nomination and look forward to serving with these distinguished women who represent the best in leadership in government and in our country, “said Mayor Franklin.

Pelosi will be nominated as Permanent Convention Chair, while Sebelius, Van de Putte and Franklin will be nominated as permanent convention co-chairs.