Dist. 3 City Council member Rusty Paul is Sandy Springs’ representative on the Milton County Legislative Advisory Committee, which will advise state lawmakers working on legislation to re-create Milton County in what is now Fulton County north of Atlanta.

Republican Reps. Mark Burkhalter of Johns Creek and Jan Jones of Milton announced the makeup of the committee May 6. They are sponsors of House Resolution 21, which would put a constitutional amendment on the November 2010 ballot to allow previously merged counties to break away. Milton merged into Fulton in the 1930s.

The county secession effort has the support of the full north Fulton legislative delegation and municipal leaders such as Sandy Springs Mayor Eva Galambos.

“The Milton County Legislative Advisory Committee will evaluate, collaborate with and make recommendations to the north Fulton delegation,” Jones said.

The committee’s areas of concern include separating the counties’ functions, establishing a new school system, and addressing judicial services and tax issues. The committee will serve through March, consulting north Fulton experts in specific areas and exchanging information with county and municipal officials in north Fulton.

Besides Paul, the only Sandy Springs voice on the committee is tax lawyer Robert Proctor.

Others on the committee are Fulton Superior Court Judge Tom Campbell of Roswell, Johns Creek City Council member Randall Johnson, Alpharetta City Council member Jim Paine, Fulton Board of Education members Katie Reeves of Alpharetta and Ashley Widener of Johns Creek, and Fulton Commissioner Lynne Riley of Johns Creek.