Mayor Eva Galambos will be facing three challengers in her bid for re-election on Nov. 3.

At the close of qualifying on Friday, Sept. 4, the four candidates who had entered the race to become mayor of Sandy Springs for the next four years included:

Mayor Eva Galambos (Incumbent), 7100 Brandon Mill Road, Sandy Springs, GA 30328, 770-206-2050.

Bob Brown, owner of Red Baron’s Antiques, 6450 Roswell Road Sandy Springs, GA 30328 404-252-3770.

Donald Patrick Bolena, Jr, motivational speaker, 227 Sandy Springs Place, Suite D-216, Sandy Springs, GA, 30328 678-622-4915.

Warren James Hull, a political unknown, 71 Hardeman Road, Sandy Springs, GA 30342 404-213-3507.

Two candidates qualified to seek the Dist. 1 City Council seat being vacated by Doug MacGinnitie, who is seeking election to the Georgia Secretary of State office. The two candidates are:

John Paulson, 1644 Northridge Road, Sandy Springs, GA 30350, 770-772-0388.

Wilson James Squire, III, 2945 Coles Way, Sandy Springs, GA 30350, 678-966-3254.

Dist. 3 City Council member Rusty Paul announced Sept. 1 that he would not seek re-election—abiding by a commitment made when he was elected four years ago—and two candidates qualified to run for his seat:

William C. Collins, 6065 Weatherly Drive, Sandy Springs, GA 30328, 404-685-4266.

Willis W. Cleveland, 6441 Wright Road, Sandy Springs, GA 30328, 404.303.9465.

One new candidate qualified to run against the incumbent for the Dist. 5 City Council race. The candidates are:

Incumbent Tiberio DeJulio, PO Box 420461, Atlanta, GA 30342-0461, 404-851-1414.

Challenger Deborah Hull, 71 Hardeman Road, Sandy Springs, GA 30342 404-402-1414.

The remaining three City Council posts have no challengers to the incumbents, who are:

Dist. 2 Councilwoman Dianne Fries, 9840 Huntcliff Trace, Sandy Springs, GA 30350, 770-992-5171.

Dist. 4 Councilwoman Ashley Jenkins, 35 Messina Way, Sandy Springs, GA 30328, 404-520-0879.

Dist. 6 Karen Meinzen-McEnerny, 4604 Meadow Valley Drive, Sandy Springs, GA 30342, 404-358-0068.

Nov. 3 will be only the second citywide election in Sandy Springs since the city was incorporated in 2005.

— John Schaffner