The National Merit Scholarship Corp. announced 412 Georgians among approximately 16,000 semifinalists for this school year’s National Merit Scholarship Program.

The high school seniors named semifinalists earned that status with their success on the Preliminary SAT last fall. They are in the running for some 8,200 scholarships worth a total of $36 million, to be awarded in the spring for use at college starting next school year.

The number of semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the nation’s graduating seniors. To become a finalist, a semifinalist must have an outstanding high school academic record, be endorsed and recommended by his or her high school principal, and earn SAT scores that confirm the performance on the PSAT. A semifinalist also must submit a detailed scholarship application, including an essay. Roughly 90 percent of the semifinalists will become finalists.

The following are semifinalists who attend schools covered by Reporter Newspapers: Isabella Hendry, Atlanta Girls School; Hortense Badarani, Emmaline Campbell, Brian Pettitt-Schieber and Colin Shore, Atlanta International School; Alice Bottoms and Olivia Stockert, Holy Innocents’ Episcopal School; Marilyn Lapu, Holy Spirit Preparatory School; Samuel Hempel and Benjamin Laur, Lovett School; Charles Fortin, Pranav Mahadevan, Daniel Motter and Stephanie Word, Marist School; Mandy Eidson, North Atlanta High School; John Calhoun, Sean Doherty, Emily Kaplan, Derek Leung, Andrew Longhi, Amy Schettino and Isaac Sukin, Pace Academy; Allison Briskin, Weber School; Katharine Armstrong, Thomas Brooke, Irene Chen, Eugene Cho, David Floyd, Ann Giornelli, Jillian Giornelli, Matthew Gittleman, Angela Guo, Aaron Hersum, Daniel Hope, Elizabeth Howell, Alexander Jordan, Rachel Jordan, Yeshwanth Kandimalla, Rachel Klopper, Joseph Long, Elizabeth Lummus, Martha Lummus, Ellen McKnight, Elisabeth Powell, Julia Smith, Zaev Suskin, David Tinnon and Marietta Tung, Westminster Schools; and Michael Cohen, Rachel Niederhoffer, Victoria Shaw and Julian Shutzberg, Riverwood International Charter School.