By Jason Massad

A new DeKalb County school board took office Jan. 3 and included new board members Nancy Jester and Donna Edler.

Nancy Jester is sworn as as the new District 1 board representative

Jester was sworn in by DeKalb Superior Court Judge Gregory Adams. Edler was sworn in during the afternoon ceremony at the school board’s offices in Stone Mountain by DeKalb State Court Judge Barbara J. Mobley.

Jester replaces former school board member Jim Redovian. Edler replaces former board member Zepora Roberts.

Three incumbent board members, Sarah Copelin-Wood, Jesse Cunningham Jr. and Dr. Eugene P. Walker, also were sworn in for new terms. The remaining four board members are in the middle of their terms.

The new board was to hold its first meeting during the evening of Jan. 3. It was to take it first look at plans to redraw the system’s schools attendance zones.

Joe Earle

Joe Earle is Editor-at-Large. He has more than 30-years of experience with daily newspapers, including the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and was Managing Editor of Reporter Newspapers.