At a recent Leadership Sandy Springs graduation, three past graduates received awards for outstanding leadership in the community.

Mary Conner “Connie” Cannon, a retired MARTA engineer and 2002 graduate of the organization, was recognized for her continued leadership with Volunteer for Better Sandy Springs service day and the Movies by Moonlight program.

Lori Evers, principal in the CPA firm Evers & Fox, P.C. and graduate of the Class of 2005, recently completed a two-year term as president of Heritage Sandy Springs. She also has worked with the Sandy Springs Festival and the Community Foundation of North Fulton.

Becky Jo Nickles, a nurse and small business owner, graduated from Leadership Sandy Springs in 1995. She has served the city as a volunteer with Heritage Sandy Springs and the Sandy Springs Society and as Chair of the Sandy Springs Festival, Chair of Ghostly Gathering, and President of the Breakwater Homeowners’ Association.

On the day the awards were given, Leadership Sandy Springs graduated 28 who completed a nine-month program on aspects of the Sandy Springs community, from government and education to civic and cultural issues.

The class included Dr. Howard Austin; Lt. Benjie Cain of the Sandy Springs Police Department; Blake Dettwiler of CH2M HILL; Mark Duke of the Sandy Springs Fire Department; Riverwood International Charter School Principal Eddie Echols; Jessica Graves, operations Coordinator at Northside Hospital; Tim Hett of State Bank & Trust Company; and lawyer Biff Kansiger.

Other graduates included Michelle Keasler of the Wendy’s/Arby’s Group; Jerri King of the First Montessori School of Atlanta; Catherine Lautenbacher of the Community Action Center; lawyer Bob Levinson; Jack Lindsay of Georgia Power Co.; Felix Lora of Sandy Springs Mission; Edwin Mayer of Ameriprise Financial; Mandy Merkel of Senior Resource Consulting; Christy Nickles of Heritage Sandy Springs; Rita Paris of Stewart Tile Guaranty Co.; Doris Pereira of the Community Action Center; Mitch Reiner of Capital Investment Advisors; Darrell Rodgers of Emerald Data Networks; Pam Rosenthal of Candy Berman & Associates; Jim Squire of Firestorm; Dawn Stark of St. Martin’s Episcopal School; Karen Trylovich of AML Communications; Jessica Walling of UPS; lawyer Den Webb; and Leticia Weidenhamer of Cox Communications Inc.