Six Dunwoody candidates have qualified to run for mayor or city council seats in the November election.

At least one person qualified Aug. 29 in each of the four positions that will be open at the end of the year: mayor and council posts 4, 5 and 6. Candidates for the council seats must live in a designated portion of the city, but run city wide.

Bob Dallas and Mike Davis filed to run for mayor. Mayor Ken Wright announced earlier this year that he will not be running for reelection.

James Sibold, who publicly had expressed interest in running for mayor, announced that he will no longer pursue a candidacy.

Terry Nall filed to run for Post 4, the at-large City Council seat from District 1. The seat is held by Councilman Robert Wittenstein, who filed to run for reelection.

Kerry de Vallette qualified to fill the at-large Post 5 position. Councilman Danny Ross, who represents Post 5, will not be seeking reelection.

City Councilman John Heneghan qualified to run for another term in his Post 6 seat.

Aug. 29 was the first day of the qualifying period, which lasts through Sept. 2.

Qualifying hours are from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. Candidates file in the City Clerk’s office. The qualifying fee is $480 for mayor and $360 for a council post.

To run for office, a candidate must be a registered voter and have lived in the city of Dunwoody for at least one year before the Nov. 8 election. A candidate interested in representing a council district seat also needs to be a resident of the district for at least six months before the election.

“We will be posting candidates on the website as they come in to qualify,” said City Clerk Sharon Lowery.

Lowery said the November contest will be the first disputed election in Dunwoody since its incorporation. Lowery said no one qualified to run against the incumbents in 2009. In the 2010 special election, only City Councilman Doug Thompson qualified to run for the seat that had been held by Tom Taylor, who was elected to the state Legislature.