Twenty-six candidates have filed to run for office in the new city of Brookhaven,  according to DeKalb County election officials. The deadline was Wednesday, Aug. 15.

Four candidates are running for mayor. Each of the four City Council seats attracted several candidates. District 3 has the most candidates, with nine contenders.

The election will be held Nov. 6.

Brookhaven voters approved the creation of the new city on July 31.

The DeKalb County office of voter registration and elections released the list of qualified candidates through its web site. Here are the candidates, listed by position sought:

Mayor: Larry Danese, J. Max Davis, Sandy Murray, Thom Shepard.

City Council, District 1:  J.D. Clockadale, Alan Cole, Michelle Conlon, Kevin D. Fitzpatrick Jr., Kevin Meaders, Rebecca Chase Williams.

City Council, District 2: Jim Eyre, Larry Hurst, Russell Mitchell.

City Council, District 3: Deborah Anthony, Hope Bawcom, Bates Mattison, Bridget O’Donnell, Ben Podgor, Kevin Quirk, Julia Russo, Gaye L. Stathis, Erik Steavens.

City Council, District 4: Joe Gebbia, Karen Lord, Frances R. Reedy, Kerry Witt.

Dan Whisenhunt

Dan Whisenhunt wrote for Reporter Newspapers from 2011 - 2014. He is the founder and editor of