Sandy Springs City Council will attend a special called meeting on Friday to consider a settlement with Fulton County over distribution of the Local Option Sales Tax.

Cities in Fulton County are considering the agreement in an attempt to settle a dispute about each city’s cut of the sales tax.

The meeting is set for Friday, 3 p.m., at Sandy Springs City Hall, 7840 Roswell Road, Building 500

City spokeswoman Sharon Kraun said city council received an update about the settlement agreement at its last regular meeting and the special called meeting will give the council the opportunity to approve it.

Here is the breakdown of the percentage of sales tax money each city will receive under the terms of the agreement. Every city named here must agree to the settlement or the distribution will be determined by a judge, according to documents given to city council.

Alpharetta – 5.8 percent

Johns Creek – 7.7 percent

Milton – 3. 2 percent

Mountain Park – .05 percent

Roswell – 8.9 percent

Fulton County – 14 percent

Sandy Springs – 9.5 percent

Chattahoochee Hills – .26 percent

College Park – 1.5 percent

East Point- 3.9 percent

Hapeville – .68 percent

Palmetto – .42 percent

Union City – 1.9 percent

Atlanta – 40.4 percent

Dan Whisenhunt

Dan Whisenhunt wrote for Reporter Newspapers from 2011 - 2014. He is the founder and editor of