A primary election and a general non-partisan election will be held May 20. In the past, those elections have been held in July, but a court ruling moved the date back this year to allow at least 45 days for the state’s runoff period so there’s enough time for military ballots to be returned.

Here are candidates who qualified for election to seats representing areas of Brookhaven.

Georgia Senate

District 40

Republicans – Richard D. “Dick” Anderson; Francis R. “Fran” Millar, incumbent

Democrats – Tamara Y. Johnson; Benedict I. Truman II

District 42

Democrats – Elena C. Parent; R. Kyle Williams

Republican – Gregory E. “Greg” Williams

Georgia House of Representatives

District 79

Republicans – James Bradley “Brad” Goodchild; Thomas K. “Tom” Taylor, incumbent

District 80

Republicans – Catherine S. Bernard; Michael J. “Mike” Jacobs, incumbent

District 81

Republican – James R. “Jim” Duffie

Democrat – M. Scott Holcomb, incumbent

District 82

Democrat – Mary Margaret Oliver, incumbent

DeKalb County Board of Commissioners

District 2

Democrat – Jeff Rader, incumbent

Non-partisan elections

DeKalb County Board of Education

District 1– Stan Jester

District 2 – Don McChesney; Marshall Orson, incumbent

DeKalb County Sheriff – Dale Bernard Collins; Ted Golden; R. “Tony” Hughes; Vernon Jones; Melody Maddox; Jeff Mann, incumbent; Melvin Mitchell; LaSalle Smith, Sr.