The Georgia Department of Education on May 8 recognized 116 graduating seniors as 2014 Georgia Scholars.

The deparment identifies seniors who have achieved excellence in both school and community.

“There is only one thing I can say about our 116 Georgia Scholars, and that is this: I am so proud to call each of you a student in the state of Georgia,” said State School Superintendent Dr. John Barge in a press release.

Each Georgia Scholar will receive a seal for his or her diploma.

Students in Reporter Newspaper communities who were named Georgia Scholars are:

  • Maddie Dill, Dunwoody High School, DeKalb County
  • Mallory Harrie, Dunwoody High School, DeKalb County
  • Mary Elizabeth Lee, Dunwoody High School, DeKalb County
  • Daniel Muehring, North Springs High School, Fulton County
  • Carson Hooper, Holy Spirit Preparatory School, Private
  • Joseph Martin, Mount Vernon Presbyterian School, Private