Brookhaven voters head to the polls May 20 to choose a new sheriff and to nominate candidates in Republican and Democratic primaries.

If you aren’t sure which district you vote in, go to That website also will tell you where you vote and can provide you with a printable sample ballot.

Former Sheriff Tom Brown’s resignation earlier this year so he could run for a seat in the U.S. Congress opened up the nonpartisan race for his successor. Eight candidates are running in the special election to choose a new sheriff. They are: Dale Bernard Collins, Ted Golden, R. Tony Hughes, Vernon Jones, Melody Maddox, incumbent Jeff Mann, Melvin Mitchell and LaSalle Smith Sr.

In a non-partisan race for the District 2 seat on the DeKalb County school board, incumbent Marshall Orson faces Don McChesney.

Republican officeholders representing Broohaven in the state Legislature drew primary opponents in the May 20 primary.

Sen. Fran Millar, who represents District 40, faces a challenge in the Republican Primary from Richard D. “Dick” Anderson. Two Democrats, Tamara Y. Johnson and Benedict I. Truman II, square off May 20 for the nomination of their party. Winners of the primary elections will meet in the fall.

In House District 80, incumbent Rep. Michael J. Jacobs faces a challenge from Catherine S. Bernard.

In the Democratic Primary, Elena C. Parent and R. Kyle Wingate are competing for the nomination for the Senate seat representing District 42. The winner is scheduled to face Republican Gregory E. “Greg” Williams in the fall.

Joe Earle

Joe Earle is Editor-at-Large. He has more than 30-years of experience with daily newspapers, including the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and was Managing Editor of Reporter Newspapers.