For updated returns: Click here.

Republican incumbents appeared to be comfortably holding their own in the Nov. 4 election in Reporter Newspaper communities, according to unofficial returns.

Returns posted on the Georgia Secretary of State’s website showed Sixth District U.S. Rep. Tom Price of Roswell holding a 2-to-1 over his opponent, Democrat Robert Montigel. State Sens. Hunter Hill of Atlanta, Fran Millar of Dunwoody and John Albers of Roswell all also held strong leads.

DeKalb Democrat Rep. Scott Holcomb also led in his bid for re-election in District 81, collecting about 53 percent of the vote.

A special election to fill an empty seat on the DeKalb County Commission appeared headed for a runoff. Candidates Holmes Pyles, Nancy Jester and Wendy Butler each collected more than 20 percent of the vote in the five-candidate race. Georgia requires a runoff election between the candidates with the two highest vote totals when no single candidate collects more than half the vote in an election.

In Fulton, County Commission Chairman John Eaves won re-election with about 57 percent of the countywide vote.

In Brookhaven, John Park held a comfortable lead over Tim Nama in the race for the District 2 seat on Brookhaven City Council, which had been vacated earlier this year by the resignation of former City Councilman Jim Eyre. Park appeared to claim enough of the votes — 59 percent — to avoid a runoff. Last week, two candidates dropped out of what had been a four-man race.

It also appeared that Brookhaven voters rejected an effort to adopt redevelopment powers for the city. With about 8,620 votes counted in the referendum on the redevelopment powers, no voters outpolled yes voters by more than 2,500 votes.

Here are early vote tallies reported by the Georgia Secretary of State’s website for contested races in Brookhaven, Buckhead, Dunwoody and Sandy Springs:

U.S. House of Representatives District 6

Tom Price R i                                      67 %

Robert Montigel D                           33 %

 Georgia Senate District 6

Hunter Hill R i                                     60 %

Antron Johnson D                              40 %

Georgia Senate District 40

Francis R. ‘Fran’ Millar R i              64 %

Tamara Johnson D                           36 %

Georgia Senate District 56

John Albers R i                                   69 %

Akhtar Sadiq                                      31 %

Georgia House of Representatives District 54

Beth Beskin R                                    64 %

Bob Gibeling D                                  27 %

Bill Bozarth I                                       9 %

Georgia House of Representatives District 81

Scott Holcomb D i                             53 %

James R. ‘Jim’ Duffie R                   47 %

DeKalb County Commission, District 1

Holmes E. Pyles I                              26 %

Nancy Jester R                                  24 %

Wendy Butler R                                 24 %

Tom Owens R                                    13 %

Larry Danese R                                  12 %

Fulton County Commission, District 7

John Eaves D i                                    57 %

Earl Cooper R                                     43 %

Brookhaven City Council, District 2

John Park                                         59   %

Tim Nama                                         34   %

William Brown                                   4  %

Charles P. Barry III                           4  %

Brookhaven Redevelopment referendum

No                                                          60 %

Yes                                                         40 %

These candidates, who also represent portions of Reporter Newspapers communities, were not opposed in the election Tuesday:

U.S House of Representatives, District 5

John R. Lewis D i

Georgia House of Representatives, District 51

Wendell K.Willard R i

Georgia House of Representatives, District 52

Joseph B. ‘Joe’ Wilkinson R i

Georgia House of Representatives, District 79

Thomas K. ‘Tom’ Taylor R i

Georgia House of Representatives, District 80

Michael J. ‘Mike’ Jacobs R i

Georgia House of Representatives, District 82

Mary Margaret Oliver D i

Fulton County Commission, District 3

Lee Morris R





Joe Earle

Joe Earle is Editor-at-Large. He has more than 30-years of experience with daily newspapers, including the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and was Managing Editor of Reporter Newspapers.