The empty seat on Brookhaven City Council is being filled.

More than six months after former Councilman Jim Eyre resigned, software engineer John Park won the District 2 seat by claiming nearly 60 percent of the vote cast Nov. 4 in the four-man race for the seat, according to unofficial vote totals posted on the Georgia Secretary of State’s website on Nov. 5.

“Thank you to all of my supporters. We were victorious tonight!” Park posted on the Friends and Neighbors of John Park campaign Facebook page.

Park handily defeated Tim Nama, a former Zoning Board of Appeals chairman, who collected 33 percent of the votes cast. Two other candidates – Charles P. Barry III and Bill Brown – dropped out of the race during the last week of the campaign and each polled about 4 percent of the votes cast.

In a referendum to extend redevelopment powers to Brookhaven, the city’s voters handily rejected the proposal. More than 60 percent of the voters voted against the plan.

Holmes Pyles

In the race for the District 1 seat on the DeKalb County Commission, Holmes Pyles and Nancy Jester appear to be headed for a Dec. 2 runoff in the special election to fill the District 1 seat on the DeKalb County Commission.

Pyles welcomed the results. “I think it came out all right,” he said.

Pyles, of Stone Mountain, led the five-candidate field in the Nov. 4 race, collecting about 26 percent of the vote. Jester, of Dunwoody, finished second with 24.5 percent, edging out Wendy Butler, of Brookhaven, who claimed 23.6 percent, according to results posted on the Secretary of State’s website and the DeKalb County Voter Registration and Election website.

“We are in the runoff,” Jester said in an email to supporters on Nov. 5.

Jester also congratulated the other candidates. “To my fellow candidates who have finished their portion of the race – well done,” she wrote. “Thank you for offering yourself for public service.  I understand and appreciate your effort and commitment.  You all have given me important perspectives and I thank you for that gift.”

Nancy Jester

The state and county said the results included returns from all 37 precincts in the district. Leonard Piazza, election supervisor with DeKalb voter registration and election, said election officials still were still considering some provisional ballots and had some military ballots to complete counting, and would post final numbers by Nov. 10.

The special election was called after the resignation of former long-time Commissioner Elaine Boyer, who resigned before pleading guilty in federal court to misusing county money. She is scheduled to be sentenced in December.

Here are the results of other local contested races.

U.S. House of Representatives District 6

Tom Price R i                          66 %

Robert Montigel D                  34 %

3 of 3 counties reporting

Georgia Senate District 40

Francis R. ‘Fran’ Millar R i     63 %

Tamara Johnson D                  37 %

3 of 3 counties reporting

Georgia House of Representatives District 81

Scott Holcomb D i                  53 %

James R. ‘Jim’ Duffie R                     47 %

2 of 2 counties reporting

DeKalb County Commission, District 1

Holmes E. Pyles I                   26.1 %

Nancy Jester R                       24.5 %

Wendy Butler R                     23.6 %

Tom Owens R                         13.4 %

Larry Danese R                     12.4 %

37 of 37 precincts reporting

Brookhaven City Council, District 2

John Park                                59 %

Tim Nama                               33 %

Charles P. Barry III               4 %

William Brown                        4 %

4 of 4 precincts reporting

Brookhaven Redevelopment referendum

Yes                                          60 %

No                                           40 %

0 of 12 precincts reporting

These candidates won re-election without opposition:

Georgia House of Representatives, District 80

Michael J. ‘Mike’ Jacobs R i

Georgia House of Representatives, District 82

Mary Margaret Oliver D i





For other election results:

Joe Earle

Joe Earle is Editor-at-Large. He has more than 30-years of experience with daily newspapers, including the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and was Managing Editor of Reporter Newspapers.