Six teachers from Dunwoody schools were honored by the Dunwoody Chamber of Commerce on Jan. 5., and more teachers will be recognized as votes come in later. Abby Ross, of Austin Elementary; Lauren Long, of Dunwoody Elementary; Lori Vesole, of Dunwoody High School; Theodora Johnson, of Georgia Perimeter College; Cheryl Cook, of Hightower Elementary; Nick Birchby, of Peachtree Middle School; and Toni Hunter, of Chestnut Elementary, each received a custom parking sign naming them Teacher of the Year, free oil changes from Kia of Chamblee, $100 gift certificate from McKendrick’s Steak House and a free one-year membership to the UFC Gym.

Participating schools include Austin Elementary, Chestnut Elementary, Dunwoody Elementary, Kingsley Elementary , Peachtree Middle School, Dunwoody High School, Mount Vernon Presbyterian School and Georgia Perimeter College. Kingsley and Vanderlyn will announce later who their choices for teachers of the year.