A citizens advisory committee for the city’s ongoing zoning code re-write has been selected by Mayor Rusty Paul, he announced at the Jan. 5 City Council meeting.

The new committee’s co-chairs are Trisha Thompson, president of the Sandy Springs Council of Neighborhoods, and Lee Duncan, who is leaving his position as chair of the city Planning Commission to take this assignment. Paul will appoint a new Planning Commission chair later this month.

Other committee members include: Pat Chesser of the Perimeter Center Improvement Districts and developer Ackerman & Co.; Bill Cleveland, a resident active in environmental and stormwater issues; well-known real estate attorney Pete Hendricks; Matt LaMarsh, president of the Mount Vernon Woods Homeowners Association; Warren Jolly, president of the Providence Group development company; retired Rabbi Philip Kranz of Temple Sinai; Richard Munger of North American Properties, which is building a controversial Pill Hill apartment complex; George Northrup of Heritage Sandy Springs; Chip Swearngan of Leadership Sandy Springs and the Somerset Homeowners Assocation.

John Ruch

John Ruch is an Atlanta-based journalist. Previously, he was Managing Editor of Reporter Newspapers.