Several additional candidates have filed to run for local offices as the period for qualifying for spots on the May 24 primary ballots nears its end, according to the Georgia Secretary of State’s website. Qualifying closes Friday, March 11.

In District 79, State Rep. Tom Taylor of Dunwoody will face an opponent in the Republican Primary. Tom Owens of Doraville, who in 2014 was unsuccessful in a bid for a DeKalb County Commission seat, has filed to run for the District 79 House seat.

In District 81, three candidates have qualified to compete in the Republican Primary for a chance to challenge Democrat incumbent Rep. Scott Holcomb in the fall. Alexa Mendez Rourk of Doraville, Jim Duffie of Atlanta and Lane Flynn of Tucker all qualified for the primary, according to the Secretary of State’s website.

Former interim DeKalb School Superintendent and former state Secretary of Labor  Michael Thurmond filed to run in the Democratic Primary for the position of DeKalb County CEO. Connie Stokes and Joe Bembry previously qualified to run for the post as Democrats.

In races for the U.S. House, Republican Douglas Bell qualified to run against incumbent Democrat John R. Lewis in District 5. In District 6, Republican Kurt Wilson of Roswell is challenging incumbent Republican Tom Price in the primary. Democrat Rodney Stooksbury also filed to run for the District 6 seat in the U.S. House.

In District 11, incumbent U.S. Rep. Barry Loudermilk of Cassville faces challenges from three candidates in the Republican Primary. Daniel Cowan, Hayden Collins and William Llop of Sandy Springs qualified to challenge him in the Republican Primary. Democrat Don Wilson of Marietta also filed for the post.

To see the list of candidates who have filed for spots on primary ballots, click here

Joe Earle

Joe Earle is Editor-at-Large. He has more than 30-years of experience with daily newspapers, including the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and was Managing Editor of Reporter Newspapers.

One reply on “More candidates file to run for local offices”

Comments are closed.