Thousands of people flocked to Dunwoody for the city’s annual 4th of July Parade, considered the largest Independence Parade in Georgia. The annual tradition includes announcing winners of the dozens and dozens of entries.

The winners of this year’s parade are:

Antique cars

First: V8 Ford Club

Second: Dr. Z’s Fleet

Marching bands

Daniel Wayne, a trumpet player, marched with Spirit of Atlanta Drum and Bugle Corps. The group placed first in the marching band division of the parade. (Phil Mosier)

First: Spirit of Atlanta

Second: 116th Army National Guard Marching Band

Third: Atholl Highlanders


First: Dunwoody Woman’s Club

Second: Lions Youth Exchange Club

Third: Dunwoody Preservation Trust

Houses of worship

First: Temple Emanu-El

Second: Dunwoody United Methodist Church

Third: St. Luke’s Presbyterian Church

Robert Wittenstein, center, rode the Temple Emanu-El float which placed first in the houses of worship division. (Phil Mosier)

Neighborhoods/swim, tennis

First: Redfield


First: Dunwoody High School band

Second: DHS football and lacrosse

Third: Dunwoody Christian School

Local business

First: Allen Lund CO

Second: Moondog Growlers

Third: Red Wagon Popcorn

Most creative

First: Nocturnal Pirates

Second: Chick-fil-A

Most patriotic

First: Twilight Twirlers

Second: Sons of the American Revolution/Daughters of the Revolution


First: VFW

Second: DeKalb C.A.P.

Third: Grayback Base Submarine

The Atholl Highlanders placed third in the marching band division during Dunwoody’s 4th of July Parade. (Phil Mosier)


First: Pebble Tossers

Second: Dunwoody Rotary Club

Third: Assistance League


First: Dunwoody Girl Scouts

Second: BSA Troop and Pack 266

Third: BSA Troop 764

Public service

First: DeKalb County Sanitation

Second: DeKalb County Sheriff

Third: DeKalb County Fire Rescue


First: Oscar Mayer Wienermobile

Longest commute

First: North Lawrence New York Fire Department

Presenting sponsors for the parade were the Dunwoody Homeowners Association and the Dunwoody Reporter.

The Nocturnal Pirates of Atlanta won first place in the most creative division of the parade. (Phil Mosier)