The candidates are set in many state, county and federal races – most of them competitive – as the qualifying period ended March 6.

The primary election is scheduled for May 19 and the general election on Nov. 3.

The following are the candidates in some key races in the Sandy Springs area. “D” means “Democrat” and “R” means “Republican.”

U.S. House

District 5 (Buckhead)

John Lewis (D) (incumbent)

Barrington Martin II (D)

Angela Stanton-King (R)

District 11 (Buckhead/Sandy Springs)

Dana Barrett (D)

Barry Loudermilk (R) (incumbent)

State Senate

District 6 (Buckhead/Sandy Springs)

Jen Jorden (D) (incumbent)

Harrison Lance (R)

State House

District 40 (Buckhead)

Erick Allen (D) (incumbent)

Taryn Chilivis Bowman (R)

District 52 (Buckhead/Sandy Springs)

Shea Roberts (D)

Deborah Silcox (R) (incumbent)

District 54 (Buckhead)

Betsy Holland (D) (incumbent)

Lyndsey Rudder (R)

Fulton County Sheriff

Walter Calloway (D)

Myron Freeman (D)

Theodore “Ted” Jackson (D) (incumbent)

Patrick “Pat” Labat (D)

Charles Rambo (D)